Header Graphic
menu top
  Go to AHS Home Page  
menu bottom
Gold Medal


2015 Honorees
Earl and Barbara Watts
Region 14, Mississippi

Established in 1950, this is the Society's highest honor and is the official recognition for distinguished and meritorious service rendered the AHS by a member on the national level. It is named for the founder of the American Hemerocallis Society. In general this award should honor only one person annually, but two awards have been given on occasion. A dual award to two members of the same family will count as one. Nominations may be submitted by any AHS member to the AHS Awards & Honors Chairman by mail or email. Nominations are due by September 1st for the upcoming year. The AHS Board votes by secret ballot at the annual fall board meeting, and the award is presented at the following AHS National Convention.

Previous honorees:

2015 Earl and Barbara Watts Mississippi
2014 Joanne Larson Illinois
2013 Timothy J. Fehr Wisconsin
2012 Kevin P. Walek Virginia
2011 Jim and Peggy Jeffcoat South Carolina
2010 Bill and Jean Norris Florida
2009 Lee Pickles Tennessee
2009 Roswitha Waterman New York
2008 Pat Mercer Georgia
2007 Kay Day Pricola California
2006 Wayne Johnson Florida
2005 Ken Cobb North Carolina
2004 Hal Rice Michigan
2003 Virginia Henson Texas
2002 Nell Jessup Georgia
2001 David Kirchhoff Florida
2000 Peggy Estes Oklahoma
2000 Earlene Garber Louisiana
1999 William C. Monroe Louisiana
1998 Jack Harrison Alabama
1997 Annie Weinreich Texas
1996 Bill & Mary Anne Ater Texas
1995 Bob Brooks California
1994 Dorothea Boldt Louisiana
1993 Frances Gatlin Missouri
1993 Elly Launius Mississippi
1992 Clarence Crochet Louisiana
1991 R.W. Munson, Jr. Florida
1991 Selma Timmons Georgia
1990 Virginia Peck Tennessee
1989 Mavis G. Smith Missouri
1988 Betty Woods Georgia
1987 Ida Munson Florida
1986 Sarah Sikes Alabama
1985 Luke Senior, Jr. Arkansas
1984 Lucia Bjorkman Texas
1983 Mildred Schlumpf Texas
1982 Olive Langdon Alabama
1981 Daisy L. Ferrick Kansas
1980 Shirley Gene Wild Missouri
1980 Martha B. Hadley Missouri
1979 Luther J. Cooper, Jr. North Carolina
1978 Betty Barnes Mississippi
1977 Ruth Mannoni Kansas
1976 Edna Lankart Texas
1975 Louise Simon Louisiana
1975 Willard Gardner North Carolina
1974 George T. Pettus Missouri
1973 Ethel Smith Mississippi
1972 Molly Wheeler Illinois
1971 Walter C. Hava Mississippi
1970 Hyta Mederer Georgia
1970 Bertie Ferris Texas
1969 George M. Darrow Maryland
1968 William E. Monroe Louisiana
1967 Ben Parry Tennessee
1966 Lula Mae Purnell Texas
1965 Olive Hindman Florida
1964 Hubert A. Fischer Illinois
1963 Ophelia Taylor Florida
1962 Frances Lamb Kentucky
1961 D. R. McKeithan Oklahoma
1960 Mrs. Carl Marcue Iowa
1959 Wilmer B. Flory Indiana
1958 Elmer A. Claar Illinois
1957 Hugh M. Russell Texas
1956 F. Edgar Rice Oklahoma
1955 George E. Lenington Missouri
1954 Bess Ross Iowa
1953 Gretchen Harshbarger Iowa
1952 Viola Richards Indiana
1951 M. Frederick Stuntz New York
1950 Helen Field Fischer Iowa
© Copyright 1995-2013 by the American Hemerocallis Society, Inc.
Page Bottom