Current years winners

Award of Merit

Established in 1950, this award is given to signify that a cultivar is not only distinctive and beautiful, but also performs well over a wide geographic area. The Award of Merit is the second step in the “Pyramid of Awards” and is on the path to competing for the Stout Silver Medal. The award is made each year to the twelve registered daylilies receiving the most votes by the garden judges under the following formula: A cultivar must receive votes from at least half of the regions, and not more than one-third of the total votes credited to a cultivar shall come from any one region.   Below are the current years winners, and a link to the cumulative historical list.

2017 Award of Merit

Award Winners

Itsy Bitsy Spider (Bishop) 106
Christmas in Oz (Herrington-K.) 90
Special Candy (Stamile) 49
Jessica Lynn Bell (Bell-T) 48
Little Lemon Twist (Cochenour) 45
Spacecoast Irish Illumination (Kinnebrew-J.) 43
Green Rainbow (Herrington-T.) 42
Spacecoast Dark Obsession (Kinnebrew-J.) 42
Laughing Skies (Stamile) 49
Spotted Fever (Brown-Oakes) 39
Browns Ferry Royalty (Douglas-C.) 38
Purple Tarantula (Gossard) 38
< Back to Awards

Complete List of 2017 Award of Merit Winners and Runners Up

Spreadsheet of the 2017 Winners HERE in .xlsx and HERE in .xls
Cumulative Awards 1950-2017 HERE in .xlsx and HERE in .xls
2018 AHS Awards Nomination form available HERE in .pdf format

The American Daylily Society

5000+ Happy Members